Fees and Refunds

About Fees

Course Fee

  • The fee for each course is listed on the course information page.
  • The fee listed for each course is the same for auditors as for credit students.
  • Course fees may be paid by either:
    • A check payable to Regents-UC.
    • Purchase order.
    • VISA, MasterCard or Discover.

Late Enrollment Fee

A fee may be charged for enrollments received after the first class meeting. Please see the specific course's description or contact Student Services for more information.

Returned Check Fee

A $25 collection fee is required by the university.

About Refunds

Full refunds are automatically processed for courses which have been cancelled or discontinued. All other refund requests must be in writing. Unless otherwise noted in the course description, refunds will be granted based on the following criteria:

  • One- to three-day courses - A full refund will be granted if a request is received by the close of business the day prior to the first class session, after which no refunds are granted.
  • Courses with four or more meetings - A full refund will be granted if a request is received by the close of business the day prior to the first class session. A refund minus a $25 service charge and any nonrefundable materials fee will be granted if received the next business day following the first class session, after which no refunds are granted.
  • Alternate Refund Deadlines or Special Refund Policies apply to some courses. Please see the notes in the course description and/or contact Student Services for details.
    • Alternate Refund Deadlines: If a course has an alternate refund deadline, it is displayed in the course details fee area. These alternate dates are necessary due to up-front financial commitments relating to the specific course.
    • Special Refund Policy "A" (applies to Education's e-learning courses)
      A full refund for all Education Extension e-Learning courses (online, hybrid, webcast, videoconference) will be issued only if received in writing 2 days prior to the start date of the course. Refund requests received after that date may be granted only on a case-by-case basis, upon review by the Director of Education Extension, and will be assessed a minimum $50 drop fee. NO refunds will be granted on or after the start date of the course.
    • Special Refund Policy "B" (applies to Forensic Nursing, Case Management and Legal Nurse Consulting)
      If you decide to drop the course, a $50 fee will be withheld from the tuition refund. You must submit your request to drop in writing prior to the opening of the class or within seven days of your enrollment date. No refund will be granted if requested after the times indicated above. Please submit your written requests to or mail to: UCR Extension, 1200 University Ave., Riverside CA 92507
  • Concurrent course refund policy - Refunds are computed according to undergraduate and/or graduate course policies, which allow for partial refunds up to the fifth week of the course, after which no refunds are granted. Visit our concurrent enrollment page to learn more.

Mail refund requests to:

UCR Extension
University of California

Riverside, CA 92521-0112
or deliver in person to the UCR Extension Student Services Office.

Refunds will not be processed until written request is received. Allow three to six weeks processing time.

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Contact Information

UC Riverside Extension Center
1200 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92507-4596

UCR Extension Center

Tel: Work(951) 827-4105 or Toll-Free(800) 442-4990 toll-free
Fax: Fax(951) 827-7273